top of page
  • caudillamgp2023

Highschools

I'll define a gangsta as a high school student who does whatever he wants—cuts classes, arrives late for class, doesn't complete assignments, etc. When I was a high school student, I identified as a gangsta. I encountered individuals from a variety of socioeconomic backgrounds; some were wealthy, while others were not. Almost all "firsts" occur during high school years. This is the stage where I made good friends, this is the time when we build ourselves and occasionally break too, this is the stage where you meet your first crush, this is the stage when you lie to your parents about a project to get more money for you to go on your "gimmick," etc. My experience was a little different; I got to experience everything a high school kid can, but now I'm unhappy. I'm reminded of the day I saw a full family seated at the table at Jollibee, the country's top fast-food restaurant, and I compared myself with them, wishing I had a full family. From that point on, I was a mess. I returned home at three in the morning virtually every day, merely to eat and then leave again. At the age of 13, I tried drinking my first alcoholic beverage, but I didn't particularly enjoy the flavor. Instead of eating with my family, I preferred to have boodle fights with my friends. It's not that I don't love them; rather, it was my way of getting away from the sadness I was experiencing. As a result, it is difficult to put into words how my time in high school has gone, but I nevertheless manage to graduate as an achiever despite all of that. My thoughts weren't quite clear, but I knew that some time and in some way everything will be okay.

"Success is not final; Failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that count" - Winston Churchill


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page